Skip to content

The 8 Dimensions of Wellness: Shaping Your Self-Care Routine

votive candle

Wellness is about more than just being healthy; it’s an optimized state of being that results from consistent self-care. To break down this concept, the eight dimensions of wellness help us understand how each aspect of our lives is interconnected. From our work to our environment, wellness is holistic in nature.

Let’s take a look at each dimension of wellness.

1. Emotional wellness

Emotional wellness is an awareness of your feelings and thoughts in response to everyday life. To positively impact this type of wellness, try to reflect on why you feel as you do and seek a deeper understanding of your emotional state. Be proactive – smile and laugh; share your thoughts and feelings; practice gratitude. Self-care is all about promoting a positive mindset.

2. Occupational wellness

Occupational wellness encourages you to analyze, explore and pursue different career opportunities. Ask yourself, are you content and fulfilled in your job? Do you find meaning in your work? If not, consider different careers and/or volunteering opportunities to expand your horizons.

3. Intellectual wellness

Intellectual wellness revolves around activities and events that stimulate our minds. We need to create, think, consider, ponder to feel intellectually fulfilled. But it’s also about our attitude towards life. Are you open-minded to new experiences? Do you push your limits?

To explore your intellectual wellness, take a new class, read something different, or try to learn a new language. After all, self-healing begins with self-knowledge.

4. Environmental wellness

Environmental wellness acknowledges the role between our environment – be it urban or natural – and ourselves, our community, and society at large. At its core, it is about respect for the world we live in.

Try to act with environmental awareness: pick up trash, reduce your resource footprint, go outdoors, or donate old clothes.

5. Financial wellness

Financial wellness begins with a prudent and forward-thinking approach to money. Saving, paying off debts, and planning ahead are major pillars of self-care.

6. Physical wellness

Physical wellness is all about the health of your body. Do you keep active? Are your habits healthy? Simple things like a good night’s sleep, eating nutritious foods, and even practicing safe sex all contribute to your physical wellbeing.

7. Social wellness

Social wellness asks us to nurture meaningful and supportive relationships with our friends, family, and our wider community. Foster social wellness by joining clubs and organizations, participating in group discussions, or volunteering in your community.

8. Spiritual wellness

Spiritual wellness starts and ends with our connection to our inner selves. It is defined by our inner purpose and stems from our religious, philosophical and moral beliefs about the world. Praying, meditating or merely taking a moment to reflect can promote spiritual wellness.

woman waving her hands during golden hour as a form of self-care

Why self-care fosters wellness

By nurturing ourselves in various ways, we can experience a multi-dimensional sense of good health. As a result, the best thing we can do is focus our efforts on different forms of self-care, so that we can become healthier in mind, body and spirit.

4 thoughts on “The 8 Dimensions of Wellness: Shaping Your Self-Care Routine”

  1. I together with my buddies have been reading through the excellent helpful hints from the blog and then unexpectedly came up with a horrible feeling I never thanked the site owner for those strategies. Most of the young boys had been certainly glad to read them and now have surely been using them. Thank you for being well considerate and then for going for this form of fabulous ideas most people are really needing to be informed on. Our own honest apologies for not saying thanks to you sooner.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *